VaChUM workshop

Organizer Frida Bender, Karoliina Pulkkinen, Sabine Undorf, Per Wikman Svahn (Stockholm University and Bolin Centre for Climate Research, KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm, Sweden)
Time 2021-02-22 15:002021-02-23 18:30
Location zoom, Stockholm
VaChUM workshop
 

Virtual workshop on Values, Choices and Uncertainties in Climate Modelling

Organised by an interdisciplinary team of researchers at Stockholm University and KTH, we will bring together scientific and philosophical expertise with a range of short keynote talks followed by in-group discussions with a limited number of participants.

Please sign up using this form. If you would like to join the discussions (day 2) in addition to the talks (day 1 and/or 2), please also add a sentence motivating your interest by Feb 1 2021 when prompted in the next step.


Confirmation of a space in the discussion will be sent out in early February and connection details shortly before the workshop.

Preliminary agenda below (and on the workshop webpage).



Day 1: Monday, 22 Feb 2021 All times in CET (15-18.30 CET, 14-17.30 GMT, 9-12.30 EST, 17-20.30 EAT, ...)

15.00-15.15 Introduction of the Values, Choices and Uncertainties in Climate Modelling project

15.15-15.40 Andrew Gettelman: Defining and Reducing Uncertainty in Climate Model Projections

15.40-16.05 Wendy Parker: Values in Climate Science: From Aims to Purposes

16.05-16.30 Matt Brown: TBA

16.30-16.45 Coffee break

16.45-17.10 Ted Shepherd: Reliability vs informativeness: the storyline approach to representing uncertainty and risk

17.10-17.35 Erica Thomson: On the co-development of models and expert judgement

17.35-17.45 Short break

17.45-18.30: Q&A and general discussion


Day 2: Tuesday, 23 Feb 2021

15.00-15.05 Welcome

15.05-15.30 Gabi Hegerl: Is the observed instrumental record consistent with climate model simulations?


15.30-15.50 Introduction to the discussions

15.50-16.30 Breakout discussions 1

16.30-16.40 Summaries of the breakout discussions 1

16.40-17.00 Coffee break

17.00-17.40 Breakout discussions 2

17.40-17.50 Summaries of the breakout discussions 2

17.50-18.20 Reflections: What have we all learned from each other? In particular, philosophers from scientists and scientists from philosophers? Is there interest to follow up? On what, how?

18.20-18.30 Concluding reflections